About the Club
Westwood Country Club is a premier family-oriented athletic club that provides a variety of quality services and activities for the recreation and dining needs of members.
The club was established in 1955 and has been owned and operated by its members since 1957. The original home that houses the club masterfully blends the charm of early 1900’s architecture, picturesque surroundings and modern expansions to create a facility unique among Austin clubs. At the heart of the complex is the McClendon home, a medieval French mansion built in 1925 by Judge and Mrs. James W. McClendon. It’s flagstone walkways, Mexican tile floors, hand painted ceilings, and native rock fireplace offer ambiance to special events.
Expansions to the McClendon structures have added party and dining rooms, lounges, commercial kitchen, fitness facilities, squash and racquetball courts, daycare, marina, pro shop, tennis and sports courts and a 25-meter heated outdoor pool.
Read more about the McClendon home in this article titled The Two Towers (1926-1955) written by Mary Anne McClendon.